Sometimes you can’t help but grow

2 05 2011

One day, about 3 weeks ago, our roommate T was meeting with one of her Herbalife customers and Mr. Ewe asked if that was something I would consider doing to make some extra money. I told him about this company called Arbonne and that I used to be an Arbonne sales consultant when I lived in Nebraska, and we decided I would find a consultant that would mentor me and help me get back into the business.

Arbonne is a premium Swiss brand of personal care, nutrition and weight loss products that are hypoallergenic and botanically based. The products are sold via network marketing, like Avon.

So I have been talking to this woman, C, who is an Arbonne sales consultant and Area Regional Manager (which means she has a decent sized team under her.)

This is woman is just wonderful. She’s a breast cancer-treatment survivor, and completely inspirational. She’s been in Arbonne for 20+ plus years, so she has a lot of confidence in what she’s doing, the company and its products, and network marketing in general.

I bring all this up because I just got done with my second meeting with her. She understands Mr. Ewe’s and I’s financial constraints so there isn’t a lot of pressure to “buy in.” What she does think is that if I really want to join the company, to do it as cheaply as possible and earn my “upgrades” instead of buying in all at once for a lot of money.

So today we were talking about what had held me up last time I was in Arbonne, where did I get stuck? And I told her it wasn’t my understanding of the company or the products, but my fear of meeting and approaching new people to talk about the company and the products.

Then I told her about my acupuncturist and how he taught me that I am a water element, and that fear is a big ruling factor in my life and always has been. And I told her a little bit about my last session with my acupuncturist and that I am working really hard right now on taking charge of my life and taking care to make sure that my needs are met.

She said that until I am comfortable spending a little bit of money on my membership and a couple products that I should instead work on my personal growth and development. She recommended a book for me to read, Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway by Susan Jeffers. And then said I should start doing daily affirmations, make a mini-business plan of where I want to be in a year (more like a dream list than a business plan), get some ideas for networking (like knitting groups, meet-ups and new mom groups) and study the catalog so I have a better idea of what the products are. (A lot has changed in 5 years since I was a member.)

I can’t tell you how good I feel about where I am in my life right now. I feel like I am meant to be in this place now. Between Mr. Ewe’s amazing love and support, the friendship and help with my personal growth and development I get from my acupuncturist, and my new mentor-friend C I can’t help but win and succeed. I feel blessed and rich.

What R the acupuncturist has been teaching me, and what C was talking about today, everything is just coinciding perfectly.

This is such a great way to kick off another rainy month is Seattle (is it REALLY May?? Will the sun EVER shine?? Is this going to be Forever?) and week 17 of my pregnancy.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

