First Ride into Seattle

1 12 2008

Date: December 1

Mileage: 20

December Mileage: 20

Year to Date Mileage: 482.8

My first bike ride into Seattle was, uh, interesting. I’ve never ridden in a large city before. Heck, I never even rode my bike in downtown Omaha. This was (and still is) all new territory for me.

Two weeks ago I rode my bike for the first time in Washington. On my way home, in the rain, in the total darkness that can only be the country late at night, I rode over a speck of glass. This speck proceeded to puncture my rear inner tube. I’ve never changed a flat before, but I managed. Unfortunately, managed just fixes the flat, it doesn’t do a good job of it. This came to be a problem about a week later.

Monday morning began with what can only be called fail. I woke with a start at 9:50 thinking my job interview was at 10. I double checked and realized it wasn’t actually until 1. I had a huge bowl of oatmeal with butter and brown sugar and began my day. I decided I would ride my bike to my interview instead of drive, that way I could save some money that would otherwise be spent on parking.  Well, I didn’t plan much beyond writing down the directions, wearing warm clothes (and packing a change for my interview) and I remembered both of my locks. The time came to leave, and I left. 3 miles later I threw my chain for the first tie. It turns out that when I changed my flat, I didn’t tighten down the nuts enough. So the tension from the chain pulled my rear whell forward just enough to cause problems. Iknew exactly what was wrong, but I didnt have the tools to fix it. So I would ride 2 miles, stop, put my chain back on the cog, ride two miles….

I finally made it to my interview. I got Vinny locked up and headed in. To my utter amazement, she was still there when I came back out an hour and a half later.

Then I rode up to REI to get my fender put back on and tighten my rear wheel back up. By the time I left, I was getting really hungry and it was drizzling outside. I figured I could make it back home before I got too hungry and the drizzle turned into a downpour.

I was wrong.

By mile 16 or 17, it was pouring. Hy hands were pruny and numb. My feet were so cold pedaling hurt. And boy was I hungry. I couldn’t stop thinking about food. In my mind, every downward stroke of the pedal wasn’t getting me closer to food, it was making me hungrier. The thoughts of carb rich foods were making me drool. Thanks to the rain dripping down my face the passing drivers couldn’t see the drool.

I finally got to within a mile of home when I passed a QFC. It was all over. I stopped. I dragged my soggy bike in the store with me. I bought noodles, marinara sauce, three candy bars, chocolate milk, whole milk, and a dozen eggs. Sure, I got some strange looks, but I didn’t care. I had hit pay dirt. I ate that first candy bar in three bites. (I’m not proud of this, but it was the tastiest thing I’ve eaten all year.)

The rest of the ride home was uneventful. I knew (once I had something in my stomach) that it was only a matter of minutes before I could dry off and put hot food in my belly.

The rest of the night is pretty much a carb induced haze of bliss.

Happy riding!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

