My Stepmom aka The Doomsday Goddess of Destructive Advice (rant)

25 11 2008

Shit happens. Problems can snowball to the point where they feel completely out of control. Take my car for example. When I moved out here, I had every intention of riding my bike full time. But it took my ex a long time to get it sent out here, and when it finally arrived, it had broken during transport. So my parents basically gave me their spare car. Well, it came with problems; what free car doesn’t? The windshield needs to be replaced. The alignment needed to be done about a year ago, so now the front left hub is worn and needs to be replaced. The windshield also leaked into the fan, so the heater now needs to be fixed. These aren’t huge problems, but talking to my step-mom, it’s the beginning of the end. Now she’s freaking out about HER money situation, which has turned into her telling me “I don’t know how on earth you are going to afford to live on your own in this economy.” Fuck. Leave me alone.

On top of her spreading the word of doom, they have decided this weekend (the weekend of ThanksforTurkey Day AND my birthday) is the perfect time to take my car away to get it fixed. Fuck fuck fuck. All I want to do is celebrate my birthday ON my birthday for once. I had plans to go out Friday with a friend. But he lives 50 miles away, and I am sure as hell not riding my bike that far. This is a problem that will need to be rectified asap. Otherwise the step-parents are going to have a very grumpy birthday girl on their hands this weekend. Yeah, so what. I will pout. It’s my birthday, and I’ll cry if I want to. Fuckers.

But… I guess it won’t be the end of the world if I have to wait a week to celebrate. It’s just that every single year I get shafted when my birthday comes around. It’s so close to ThanksforTurkey Day that everyone all but forgets my birthday. Every.single.fucking.year. The only people that have it worse are people born right around Christmas and those born on leap year day, imho. Yeah, so I’m in a pissy mood. Bugger off.

So while my step-parents were lamenting the fact that they gave me a shitty car that needs to be fixed before I move to Seattle in 1.5 weeks, I decided to give my bike a quick once over. I figured the car would be out of commission for one or two days (NOT 5 days, anyhoo…) that I would keep up with riding Vinny. Well, it turns out that the other night when I was riding her home in the pitch black darkness that is the woods, I rode over some broken glass. But it wasn’t my easy-to-remove front tire that went flat. Nope. It was my I-have-no-idea-how-to-take-it-off rear tire that is now flat. I’m afraid that if I try to remove the tire and replace the inner tube (which is old anyhow) I will break the repair I just paid 30 dollars for to make my bike ridable in the first place. But if I take it into the bike shop (with the car I can’t drive) they will most likely charge me money to fix the flat (because everyone should get paid for work they do), and that’s money that I need to eat and pay my bills.

Fuckin fuck. I hate money. No one will take hand-knit items in trade anymore. And that’s pretty much all I have to offer at this moment. Any ideas? I guess I need to be an adult, pull up my big girl panties, and deal with it. Shit. Sometimes I really hate being an adult.

Actions

Information

One response

26 11 2008
jessimonster

I was pretty bummed when I had my son the day after Thanksgiving for the same reason you mentioned. It must suck to have a birthday close to a holiday. I’m going to try hard to keep his birthday and Thanksgiving seperate, but its going to be hard on his 10th, 16th and 21st birthdays, all of which fall ON Thanksgiving. Lame.

Leave a Reply

