Well well well

22 07 2008

So I quit my job last week. I just couldn’t go in anymore. I know it was a shitty thing to do to my employer. But honestly, my head wasn’t in it. And I knew it was only going to get worse as time went on. I know me. Once I’ve mentally checked out, it would take a miracle or an act of the great beyond to check me back in.

Let me just say, I am down to 4 weeks and 5 days until the big move. I was planning on going to pick up boxes today, but it rained over night, and the boxes I wanted were left out on the curb. Soggy boxes aren’t very good for packing in. But I have a lot of stuff that I am planning on moving that could be packed away.

I have all my new bike parts in except for my new handlebars, and those haven’t even shipped yet. I am going to be getting nervous soon if those don’t ship. Cause once they ship, they still have to get out here, and then I need to drag everything into the bike shop and have it all assembled. I would do it myself, but I don’t know what I’m doing, and I don’t have any tools or a work stand. At this point, I don’t want to take the chance of doing more harm than good. I figure it should cost me about the same either way, perhaps slightly more if I do it myself as I am certain I would have to replace something that I broke along the way.

Anyhow, that’s about it for now. Hopefully I will have something more exciting to write about in the coming days.

Actions

Information

4 responses

22 07 2008
bryan

what new parts did you order? I bet you can do a lot more than you think.

22 07 2008
jamilynnfitz

Well, I got new handlebars, new tires, new pedals, and a couple of wald baskets. I have the tires and the baskets, the handlebars and the pedals just got shipped today, so it will be a week before I have them here. But I am switching from moustache handlebars to drop handlebars. So I think I need new brake levers, and I need to figure out how to put my twist shifter adapter on the new handlebars once they get here.

23 07 2008
bryan

Hmmm. Well, for sure you could do the pedals yourself — and the tires, too. You could do the bars, too, but then take it to the shop for the brakes and shifters. The baskets will have to be last, but you can do that at home, too.

24 07 2008
jessimonster

I want to quit my job! I checked out weeks ago. In fact, I’m not sure I ever really checked back in after my maternity leave. Keep your fingers crossed for me, I don’t even know if I can quit yet. I’m hoping to get a very large student loan which will allow me to go back to school full time.
I’m so jealous of you!

Leave a Reply

