The Lesbian and The Puzzle

26 06 2008

Date: June 26

Mileage: 4.4

June Mileage: 100.6

Year to Date Mileage: 433.6

On my iPod: Little Big Town, “Live With Lonesome”

 

So I have openly come out to a couple of people, just to test the water, so to speak. The one thing that they seem to all ask is “Did you just wake up and decide you were gay?” or some other version of that question.

Well, I was thinking about how best to answer that question this morning on my walk with Loki. Here is what I came up with, let me know what you think:

Think of my life as a puzzle. Let’s say that my life, up to this moment, is the equivalent of 10,000 puzzle pieces. Well, the things that told me I was a lesbian were also puzzle pieces. But I only had 100 of these puzzle pieces. So as I was sifting through the box, trying to put the puzzle together, I would occassionaly come across a lesbian puzzle piece. But there were so few of them, and I came across them so infrequently, that I just put them off to the side and forgot about them. Eventually, I found one of the last pieces to the lesbian part of the puzzle. Well, I finally put all these pieces together that I had been putting off to the side over the course of the last 18 years. When I sat back and looked at the finished piece, I suddenly realized what I had been ignoring all this time. It wasn’t a “discovery” or a “realization” so much as it was an epiphany, or an “ah-ha!” moment. Once these pieces were put together, not only did those pieces make sense, but this whole corner of the puzzle regarding my sexuality made sense.

I understand that this is a longwinded explanation, but it thoroughly explains how I came to the realization that I am in fact, not heterosexual.

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 07 2008
jessimonster

Well I think thats a great way to word it. It made perfect sense to me. I don’t think it was long winded at all.

4 08 2008
Felicia

wow – that’s one of the best explanations i’ve ever heard (read).

ps. i semi-stalked you over from your great post on the LSG board. guilty.

Leave a Reply

