Murder on 156th Street

13 06 2008

Date: June 13

Mileage: 11.2

June Mileage: 48.6

Year to Date Mileage: 382

Temp/Weather: Gorgeous, 70’s, sunny

 

So this morning I was at the entrance to my neighborhood, waiting for traffic to clear long enough to cross four lanes of traffic. Look left, look right, look right, look right, look left again, etc. So This big SUV pulls up next to me on my left, ignores me. I look left again, kind of creep out a little to see past the behemoth, and I notice movement on the pavement. So I look, thinking it’s a little leaf blowing around. It’s the right size and color to be a leaf. And then it dawned on me that it isn’t a leaf at all. It’s a mouse!

Somehow, this little mouse was able to cross all four lanes of traffic without getting run over. It was unbelievable. It was about 2 feet (at the most) from the median thing in our neighborhood entrance, you know, one of those “landscaped” things that make people think the neighborhood is fancier that it really is. Anyhow, little mouse got freaked out when it got close to the SUV, and it tried to hide under the car.

Here I am, watching this all unfold in slow motion. Mouse goes across street, mouse goes under car, traffic finally clears in the road. I am thinking mouse got far enough under the car to be safely rolled PAST. Nope. Damn SUV rolled right over the little guy. Literally squished him flat. Then the back tire rolled over him, as if to add insult to fatal injury. I felt so bad, I started crying. I got off my bike, walked over to him, watched him spasm in his little final moments of life, and then moved him into the mediam so more cars wouldn’t drive over his little body.

It was gruesome on such a small scale. I feel bad. I could have run in front of the SUV while it was still at a stop and coralled the mouse to safety, but I didn’t think the SUV would just drive over it. And I sort of thought they noticed the mouse, since he was so obvious to me.

I completely forgot they were in their rolling box of seperateness. Completely insulated from the world, they never even realized they took another living creatures life this morning. How aweful.

This is one more reason that I can’t go back to driving. How many small creatures have I killed with my car without even realizing it?

Actions

Information

One response

13 06 2008
jessimonster

That is sad. It reminds me of when I found this really awesome giant moth in GTMO when I was deployed there, and as I was admiring its beautiful wing pattern, some infantrymen came up and stomped its wing and laughed. I was horrified. They completely ripped off its wing. I took the poor thing outside (I had found it in the chow hall entry way) and layed it in a quiet, shady spot where it could die in peace. I suppose I should have put it out of its misery myself, but I just couldn’t bring myself to harm something so beautiful. It makes me really sad to think of it even now. That was four years ago.

Leave a Reply

