2010

30 05 2008

This morning, as I previously mentioned, I was in a very foul mood. I wanted to have nothing to do with the world. And then I got on my bike. With each methodical revolution my feet made around, my mood was becoming more elevated. With each deep breath I took to relieve the pressure in my straining lungs, my chest felt lighter, the weight on my shoulders lifted a little. I finally got to the top of the hill at my neighborhood, and decided life would be good for another day.

I would have been able to take the longer ride to work, if it hadn’t been trash collection day. But it was, so I didn’t. On my way to work, I couldn’t help but notice what a wonderful day it was outside. The weather was perfect. A slight breeze, temp in the mid 60’s, sun shining, birds singing. I didn’t want to stop at work. I wanted to just keep biking.

I started to imagine what it would feel like if it was my last ride out of town. If it was “the” ride. I tried to imagine how I would feel, my bike loaded down with most of my wordly possessions, biking out of Omaha forever. Would I turn around and look back, or would I soldier forward? I don’t know. I won’t know until the day comes.

I then thought about the quick math I did yesterday, about my finances. How soon could I pay my debt off? How quickly could I save up enough money to leave Omaha forever? I settled on 2010. Just a short 2 years away. I can manage 2 more years. It would be 2 years, counting down. Not today and counting up to two years away.

I thought about when I would leave. What time of year would I leave Omaha? What time of year would give me the best average weather for a multi-thousand mile bike ride? I think I would leave between mid-May and mid-June.

And then I realized that this might actually work. But only if I talk to the man about it. He is riding his motorcycle to Vegas in 2010 to participate in the World Series of Poker. 2010 is the year of my 10 year high school reunion. By 2010, I should have a sizable savings account, and would be debt free.

BUT, and this is a big but. (No, not butt, dirty minds). I need to find a part time job sooner rather than later. As in, I need to start looking now. The bad news is that I have decided to look for a part time job right when the market is glutted with college kids and high school kids looking for a part time job. So I need to start looking now (I checked the online paper this morning), because the perfect part time job won’t come around too often. But if I fill up my free time with work, and making money, I will be constantly reminded of what I am working towards. If my free time is spent sitting around, waiting and watching tv, I will become distracted, sidetracked, and not follow through.

I need to leave Omaha. And even if I am just leaving Omaha in my mind each day, fantasizing about my last ride out of town, it will help. It will be one day closer to mid-June 2010, and the start of a new adventure.

I think that this adventure would be a fitting way to start my last year in my 20’s. In 2011, I turn 30. I want that birthday to welcome in the life I have secretly lived in my heart for the last 5 years.

Actions

Information

5 responses

30 05 2008
jessimonster

This makes me think of something totally unrelated, but, how many miles do you bike to work each day?

30 05 2008
jamilynnfitz

Believe it or not, the most direct route is 4.4 miles round trip.

2 06 2008
jessimonster

Thats way shorter than what I’d be looking at. I’m looking at 13 miles, one way.

2 06 2008
jamilynnfitz

You could totally do it! Or do half trips. My average speed (and I pedal at a slow, steady pace so I can enjoy the scenery) is 11 mph. If I am cruisin’ ’cause I am worried about being late to work, my avg speed goes up to about 15 mph. I’d say drive to about half way there, bike the rest. Then bike back to your car, and drive the rest of the way home. Or you could always tell me to shove it… ;)

3 06 2008
jessimonster

Yeah, I was thinking about a ride to my local light rail station, then taking the light rail to close to work, and riding the rest of the way. That would make the 13 mile one way trip look more like 5 miles one way, but the light rail here is really in efficient, I’d have to take it 15 minutes north, then 15 minutes south again, just to get to my work which is due east of my house! It would be nice to get the knitting time in on the light rail though. I never have time to knit anymore.

Leave a Reply

