Motorcycles and Bicycles

30 04 2008

Date: April 30, 2008

Mileage: 7.6

April Mileage: 109.6

Year to Date Mileage: 207.6

In My Mug: Rishi Tea Organic White Tea Snow Buds

Temp/Weather: Up to 78F, winds up to 30mph from SSE, Sunny

 

Things are looking up. I got paid, my stress level has diminished, my mood has gotten better, and the weather is slightly warmer. I signed up on BikeJournal.com today. I don’t really think I need another bike blog, but bikejournal.com will update my information with my local bike club. I think that is pretty cool, and it will also keep me updated with anything bike related stuff that is going on in my town (yeah right).

 

Tonight have a “garage party” to go to at the local Harley Davidson shop. I think next year, when my credit is better, I am going to get a Harley. Really, it is more my boyfriends dream, I’d be happy riding the old 1981 BMW motorcycle. But in a couple years, he wants us to take a cross country trip by motorcycle to see my mom, and the BMW would be really uncomfortable over that distance. I try not to think about it too much, because I really want to focus on MY bicycle, debt repayment, and gardening right now. That is more than enough for my little plate at this time. Even that is overwhelming to me. Sadly, I have to think about it, because next month (May) I am taking a motorcycle safety course to learn how to ride, and FINALLY replacing my driver’s license. I am putting off replacing it because as soon as I pass the course, I will have class M added to my license, and I don’t want to pay to replace it twice. The motorcycle is going to be awesome though. For those days that I must get across town, I will be able to take the motorcycle. I am ready to cut my car dependence (I think), but until busses come out to my end of town and we have safe ways to cycle across the city, I will need some form of motorized transportation once in a while.

 

Shut up, I am not a hypocrite. I am doing what will work best for me. So just shut your pie hole. I can be car free and have a motorcycle, but yes, a Vespa would be better. But beggars can’t be choosers, the BMW is free.

Actions

Information

One response

30 04 2008
jessimonster

You actually make some really great points. Bicycles, unfortunately, are not always practical, and while we should be working actively to make them the most practical option, in the mean time we need to learn to work with what we’ve got without being frivolous. I think the motorcycle is an excellent idea. It beats the hell out of a car, which I’m still driving. I’m the hypocrite.

Leave a Reply

