Outta My Way!

29 04 2008

Date: April 29, 2008

Mileage: 4.0

April Mileage: 102

Year to Date Mileage: 200 (!)

In My Mug: Brown Cow Cream Top Vanilla Yogurt, and Quaker Simple Harvest Multigrain Hot Cereal

 

I hit a car this morning. No, the car did not hit me; I hit it, with my fist, on purpose. The intersection right by my house just happens to be a clusterf^ck first thing in the morning. All these cars are rushing to get on the West Dodge Expressway (sort of a misnomer during the morning “rush”).

 

So anyhow, I was at the front of the far right lane waiting at the red light. The was a minivan behind me, a mini van to my left, and traffic in front of me trying to turn left across the intersection. The left-turning traffic had backed up into the intersection, and then my light turned green. The giant steel deathtraps around me started going forward, so I started going forward. I get to the point where the intersection is STILL blocked, by a lady in a red two door car. I decided I was going to squeeze in front of her since she was stuck (I’ll get to my feelings about her getting in that particular tight spot in a minute). Well she starts to inch forward, the car to my left had whizzed around the red car, the van behind me is trying to do the same, and I am feeling increasingly squished. So I stand up in my pedals, mash down and squirt into the next lane. The lady in the red car has stopped inching forward, and I am about 2 inches from her back bumper. So as I went by her car, I punched it, as hard and loud as I could.

 

The part that really made my day, besides hitting her car, was that I was crossing the Expressway to get to an access road via the grocery store parking lot. I was going faster than this woman for about 6 blocks. I kept looking over, and she is slowly creeping along with the rest of the car traffic, and I am pedaling away at my leisure, and still going faster. That made me feel pretty good, and more resolved about riding my bike.

 

I am a big proponent of bike advocacy by example. I am still new to biking, but I am not stupid. I understand that if the people that drive cars see the people that ride bikes acting like fools, it will sour them to sharing the road with cyclists even more than they already are. But this morning, I just couldn’t take it anymore. This is one of the things that has always made me angry, blocking the intersection. I could never b!tch slap someone when I was in my car. But I can get close enough in my bike to do it. Look, maybe blocking the intersection isn’t such a good idea people. What happens if a fire truck, police car or ambulance need to get through? If you are in such a rush, leave 10 minutes earlier so you can wait your turn at the intersection. This isn’t rocket science, it’s not being an @sshole.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

