Erfday Smurfday

23 04 2008

Date: April 22, 2008

Mileage: 3.8

April Mileage: 82

Year to Date Mileage: 180

Temp/Weather: Sunny, 60’sF

Days Until RAGBRAI Lottery: 9

Days Until RAGBRAI: 88 days

In My Mug: Brown Cow Cream Top Strawberry yogurt

 

 

Believe it or not, I am actually torn about Earthday. Here in the Midwest, it really doesn’t seem to be a big deal, and it should be. Out on the west coast, I know for a fact that it is a big deal, and it should be. But, to repeat a cliché, Earthday should be every day. Every single day we should celebrate our planet. Every single day we should be using cloth bags when we shop, not only at the grocery store, but at the mall, at the pet store, any where that we make a purchase that will be coming home with us. Every single day we should consider purchasing handmade and local, every single day we should recycle, and think twice about unnecessary purchases.

 

I don’t really believe in global warming, but I do believe in global killing. We have a stranglehold on this planet. We need to do our part to turn that around. I heard on a forum somewhere that some people don’t think using cloth bags will make a difference. But if everyone used one cloth bag, used paper instead of plastic, we would have that many fewer plastic bags filling up landfills and floating in trash islands in middle of the ocean.

 

If I forget my cloth bags, and I frequently do, I will opt for paper. I know that we are “wasting” paper when we use the paper bags, but I use them as recycling containers in the kitchen. When they fill up, I take them out to the recycling bin in the garage. That way I am not always cleaning out a gross plastic bin, and they don’t hold more than a couple of days of recyclables, so I don’t have a weeks worth of trash in the kitchen (the dogs think old trash is a delicacy, so you can see where that would be a problem.)

 

I think Earthday is great, but we should try to focus on the issues that are putting our world in peril on a daily basis. Earthday isn’t Christmas. We don’t have a mythical Santa-type figure that only comes out once a year, we live in this world every single day, what we do will affect our tomorrow, whether or not we want to admit it.

 

So I rode my bike today, not in celebration of Earthday, but in celebration of life, and on celebration of the glorious weather we are having today. We are finally getting spring-like weather, and I will take advantage of it as much as possible.

 

Are you making any permanent changes in honor of Mother Earth, or are you doing something differently just to day, just to see how it feels? Or could you care less, because it won’t be YOUR problem in 100 years?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

