Just Another Commute

10 04 2008

Dates: April 9 and April 10

Mileage: 6.5 and 4.2

April Mileage: 38.2

Year To Date Mileage: 136.2

Temp/Weather: 50F, windy, partly cloud/ 39F, rainy, windy

Days Until RAGBRAI Lottery: 21

Just been peddling back and forth to work. I have noticed I am getting stronger. Yesterday I took a longer route to work, and a longer route home (I had to stop by the post office on the way home.) I challenged myself on a couple of hills I haven’t attempted in a while, and it wasn’t as horrible as I expected. Last time I tried these three different hills, I was huffing and puffing my way to the top in my granny gear, and I had to stop and rest. This time, I made it to the top huffing and puffing in my second gear, but without stopping to rest. I take that as a huge sign of improvement!

Tuesday I checked the training tips for RAGBRAI, and this months article is all about starting out slow, and working on your core. Well, I haven’t been working on my core. I was laying around watching “Biggest Loser” and feeling nice and slug-like. And then the guilt worm started wiggling around in the back of my brain. So I got out my yoga mat, my February issue of “Bicycling” magazine, and worked on my abs and glutes. Then my boyfriend came in and wanted to help torture, I mean train, me. So he started throwing my legs around and making me keep them from hitting the ground. I worked on my abs for probably close to an hour. I felt like the only thing holding my top half and bottom half together was my spine. I was pretty sure that any muscle in my mid-section had turned to jello and wasn’t help holding me together. So then Wednesday morning I woke up and said to my boyfriend “Gosh, I must be super-human, my abs aren’t even sore!” He just chuckled evilly and said “Just wait.”

Let me tell you, the pain is much worse on the second day. I can’t cough, I couldn’t sit up from bed without leveraging myself up. The last time I was this sore, I was in boot-camp.

All I can say is that I can’t wait to do it again tonight! I think that my boyfriend is going to work out with me tonight, instead of sitting on the sidelines eating ice cream in front of me.  evil grin…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

