Your Hair Betrayed Me For The Last Time!

4 04 2008

Date: April 3, 2008

Mileage: 4.2

April Mileage: 9.3

Year to Date Mileage: 106.8

Temp/Weather: 45F, rainy

In My Mug: Tazo tea Lemon Maté, Yogi tea Green Tea Kombucha

Tea Quote of the Day: “Live from your heart, you will be most effective.” 

I feel totally betrayed by my boyfriends actions this week.  

He is going bald, plus he has a receding hairline. So he has been toying around with shaving his head for about a year now. I keep talking him out of it. I LOVE his hair. It is so beautiful, thick, shiny and dark. He has great man hair. Well, we were talking about it last week, and he said “Maybe I will just use the clippers, and clip it really short for a while, and then after we are used to it being short I will use a razor to shave it completely bald.” I told him I thought I could live with that, the gradual shortening of his hair length to get used to him being bald. So I gave him my blessing, finally, after a year. But I told him I wanted to be the one to use the clippers the first time. He said that was fine.  

So then on Monday, since we had previously agreed that he could go bald, he goes into work and tell his employees that if they meet all the goals and deadlines by Thursday morning, he will let them shave his head. With a razor. So not only do I not get to do it, he is going to go for the gold so to speak. I mean, what the hell?  

So I am going to get a tattoo and a couple piercings (nostril, VCH) when I complete RAGBRAI. Nyah. And this weekend, I am whipping out the koolaid to dye my hair a funky color. Last I checked, it wasn’t against the dress code at work to have hair an unusual color (PINK!?!), it just had to be  “professional”.    :-D But as we all know, the world is full of all sorts of professionals… Ahh, there is that passive aggressiveness rearing it’s ugly head, again.

I know it isn’t a big deal, but I feel betrayed. So when I told him I felt betrayed, and he goes on to ask me if I wanted to come out to his work so I can use the clippers first. I told him I would be more than happy to hop on my bike and ride 30 miles to shave his head, but that my work wouldn’t just let me leave for that. His hair has betrayed me.  

Well, pphew! I sent him an email, short and sweet. It said: “Are you bald yet?” His reply, “I am decidedly NOT bald, as I had to kick some asses this morning for not getting stuff done.” Yeah, my man’s hair is still on his head, and not in a trash can somewhere. That means I will get my way, and be the one to shave his head. It also means that my passive aggressive threat that he never knew I made in the first place won’t have to be followed through on. :::relief washes over me:::

Now, how about a little biking? It’s been raining on and off all day (April showers and all). Which is good, because we need rain for spring to become official, and for flowers to grow, and for my dogs to go outside and get nice and muddy digging up bones they forgot about over the winter. So what’s a girl to do? The way I see it, I am going to get nasty from road spray on my way home tonight, so I might as well ENJOY it. Looks like a puddle party is in order. Puddle Party? Yep, it’s like when a little kid goes through the puddle sinstead of around them. That’s my plan for tonight on my ride home. Through as many puddles as I can find. And it’s warm enough (almost 50F) that I feel comfortable taking the longer way home. In fact, I might take the really long way home: bike over to the bike shop, see if they have had a chance to look at my application yet, then ride over to the bike path and take that home. I should be able to get in 10 miles or so, instead of 2. That would be nice. I am ready to start increasing my mileage, which means I am going to have to start getting creative about which way I go to work and go home.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

