Whoda thunk it? or… Knitting and Bicycling

27 03 2008

Date: March 27

Mileage: 4.6

March Mileage: 61.2

Mileage year to date: 61.2

Temp/Weather: 30F-40F, rainy

Days until RAGBRAI: 114

I added two new pages to my blog today. One is “Things You Never Wanted To Know About Me”, and the other is “Things I want to Accomplish”. I will keep adding to them as I think of new things. My list of things I want to accomplish is quite obviously in no particular order, and long term oriented. I want to get all of that stuff done by the time I am 30, some of it will be finished much sooner, I hope.

My ride today was wet.  And cold. I didn’t take the long route home. I give myself a pass because I am fairly new to biking as a means of commuting. It’s my excuse right now for not riding harder and further. I am still building up my endurance and cardiovascualr strength. And I am a wimp. I hate having cold hands, feet, and face. Besides, in 2 weeks, I have already accrued 60+ miles. I will wait to really celebrate until I hit 100 miles. Then I will enjoy a beer in the name of personal cycling victory.

I am putting out a call, requesting comments and requests, thoughts and ideas. I am in the planning stages of putting together a self-published book about knits for biking. I have a lot of ideas, but I want to hear what any of you fellow knitting cyclists would like to see. Some of my ideas are pretty cool, and I don’t want to give away too much until I put a call out for test knitters. My ultimate goal is to offer the book and patterns as individual pdfs for sale through etsy.

I really want to talk about my ideas, but I am at least a year away from having actual copywrited patterns, and I really don’t want to get ripped off, since most of my ideas are, well, just ideas at this point. Anyone could copy them, and claim them (copywrite them) as their own. If I know you personally, or know you from ravelry, I will be more than happy to talk about some of my ideas. Otherwise, I am just taking comments and suggestions at this point.

Thanks!

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 03 2008
vipersofeden

Hey, I just posted a call to Boycott State Farm Insurance because of their recent add that makes fun of riding a bike to work. You should read more about it at: http://vipersofeden.wordpress.com
LOL
And keep up the good ride.

19 06 2008
Kizzy

Hello. Just found your blog after putting in knitting and cycling my two greatest pastimes. I am just about to embark upon the Coast2 Coast (Whitehaven to Sunderland) which is about 138 miles and I am doing it over just 2 Days. A comfortable ride. Obviously, I will be taking my knitting. Get in touch!

Leave a Reply

