Good (almost lazy) Friday

20 03 2008
Date: March 21
Mileage: 9.0
March Mileage: 40.9
Year’s Mileage: 40.9
Temp/Weather: 58F, Sunny, very windy
Days Until RAGBRAI: 119So yesterday I had the day off from work. All I had on my schedule was the finishing of folding and putting away three loads of laundry, and to run (bike) a couple of errands. Sadly, I got stuck on the couch somehow, and didn’t wake up until 4:45. I thought of it as a rest day after biking to work the last 5 days. I know that to a lot of you that biking only 4.6 miles a day, round trip isn’t all that hard, but it is a big deal for the self-proclaimed couch potato. And the fact that I rode 5.8 miles yesterday, into the wind, is huge for me. I happen to be quite proud of myself.

So, anyhow. I got out on my bike about 5 pm. I had to go to the specialty pet store to pick up 8 pounds of frozen dog food. I got to Borders about 5:30, it is only half a block from the pet store, and I was so frozen. The wind was blowing into me the whole time. My ears were frozen, my fingers were frozen, my legs were frozen. So I stopped at Borders to warm up with a hot tea and a cookie. While I was enjoying my Chai, I thought I would look for a book Scott has been wanting to read, and I found it, the last copy at the store. So I picked that up, got a biking book, and headed back out. I got to my bike at 5:55, unlocked it, got situated, and coasted down to the pet store. Pulled up, and the doors are locked, lights are out. The damn store closes at 6 pm. What the hell? What kind of store closes at 6 pm on a Friday? Do they WANT to go out of business? Apparently. So now today, I have to bundle up again, and ride out there again. They are the only store in Omaha that carries this brand of pet food, so I really don’t have a choice. I am a little miffed. I had no idea that this store would close so early. Damn my frozen fingers, and Borders beckoning warm embrace.

On my way home, I made three more stops. One was to the bike shop; I needed one of my fenders to be tightened, and my computer calibrated to miles instead of kilometers. I found the cutest cycling jersey, but I have to wait to buy it. Hopefully they will still have my size, or will be able to order it when I can afford it. Then I stopped at a new “pet boutique” right by my house, but they won’t be open until April. I wanted to see if I could convince them to carry this brand of dog food that is so hard to find. Finally I stopped at the grocery store to pick up some chicken breasts for dinner. I got home right at 7:00. Not too bad. Two hours. My longest day on the bike so far. Nice and lazy, right up until 5 o’clock.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

