St. Patrick’s Day

17 03 2008
Date: March 17

Mileage: 5.7

March Mileage: 17.3

Year’s Mileage: 17.3

Temp/Weather: 36F, 29F with wind chill, snow/rain mix

Days until BRAN: 82

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!
The ride into work this morning was uneventful. I was expecting rain, got some sort of slush falling out of the sky instead. But it wasn’t as cold as my ride on Saturday. For some reason though, I had a much harder time on my ride into work this morning than I have the last two days that I rode. I was wheezing and huffing like a smoker jonesing for a cigarette. What the hell?
I like cycling in wet weather. The smell of the wet concrete, and the feel of the drops on my face make me feel like a little kid again. The rain I am really looking forward to are those mid-Summer rainstorms. You know, the ones that cool everything down for a couple of hours, before it makes everything unbearably muggy outside. I can’t wait to ride my bike during those storms. That will make me feel free, just for a little while.
But today, it is just cold and gray outside again. It is a little after 9:30 in the morning right now, and the sky is just finally starting to pale to a medium shade of gray. I think today is just destined to be dreary. At least inside it is warm and cozy. I have my portable heater on, my Ipod is on shuffle, my glad faux-candle is cheerily flickering away, and my cup of tea is steaming slightly while it cools off to a respectable drinking temperature. I have my little cocoon of warmth until 4:30 when I have to ride back home. Maybe I will get lucky and it will have warmed up slightly this afternoon. But it really isn’t a big deal. The brisk ride is over too soon after a day of being cooped up in a little cube of space.

Tea Quote for the morning: “We are spiritual beings having a human experience.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

